Jonathan Shewchuk Receives 2003 Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software

Date: Sun, 27 Jul 2003 09:41:24 +0200
From: Arnold Neumaier 
Subject: from NA Digest

This year's Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software recognized
work on computational geometry involving forward error analysis
to guarantee correct decisions. See the announcement below.

Arnold Neumaier
From: Jorge More' 
Date: Sat, 26 Jul 2003 11:13:39 -0500
Subject: Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software

The 2003 Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software has been awarded to
Jonathan Shewchuk for Triangle: A Two-Dimensional Mesh Generator and
Delaunay Triangulator. The presentation took place July 10, at the 5th
International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM
2003) in Sydney, Australia.

Triangle generates high-quality unstructured triangular
meshes. Triangle also generates two-dimensional Delaunay
triangulations, constrained Delaunay triangulations, Voronoi diagrams,
and convex hulls. The speed and accuracy of this code is a result of
novel algorithms for extended precision floating-point arithmetic and
the use of adaptive computation controlled by forward error analysis.

The algorithms and software in Triangle are unquestionably innovative,
in both scientific and engineering senses. Triangle includes many
significant new algorithmic ideas, including Shewchuk's robust
geometric primitives. In an engineering sense, Shewchuk has done a
magnificent job of building a flexible piece of software that combines
the best of the existing algorithms with his own.

Triangle has thousands of users, and is downloaded more than 30 times
per day. Triangle has been licensed for inclusion in eleven commercial
software packages.

The Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software is awarded in honor of the
outstanding contributions of James Hardy Wilkinson to the field of
numerical software by Argonne National Laboratory, the National
Physical Laboratory, and the Numerical Algorithms Group.

Previous winners of the Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software
are Linda Petzold for DASSL at ICIAM 91, Chris Bischof and
Alan Carle for ADIFOR 2.0 at ICIAM 95, and Matteo Frigo and
Steven Johnson for FFTW at ICIAM 99.

Jorge More'
Chair, Board of Trustees

[<--] Back to Honors Received by Interval Researchers

[<--] Back to the main menu of the Interval Computations website
!!! -